State Archives of Baden-Württemberg

The State Archives of Baden-Württemberg is a very young institution which, however, includes divisions that are steeped in tradition. The individual histories of the archives that are today united under the State Archives' umbrella stretch, in some cases, back to the Middle Ages.

The duties of the State Archives are regulated in the Landesarchivgesetz (the State Archival Law of Baden-Württemberg), and its organisational structure is governed by an Organisationsstatut.

The State Archives is a "Landesoberbehörde" within the portfolio of the Baden-Württemberg Ministry for Science, Research, and Arts.

The headquarters is in Stuttgart. The State Archives of Baden-Württemberg contains eight divisions and is headed by a President. The different divisions are located in Stuttgart, Ludwigsburg, Karlsruhe, Freiburg, Sigmaringen, Kornwestheim, Wertheim, and Neuenstein.

The six archival divisions are responsible for accessioning, processing, and making available archival material. The two further service divisions are responsible for providing various services throughout the State archival sector.